Vegan MoFo

I’m a couple of days late, but turns out September is “The Vegan Month of Food” (aka Vegan MoFo).

While I won’t commit to a post a day, I’m certainly going to step it up and get this blog rolling :) After a hectic three-day weekend, I’m looking forward to a much calmer work week and – for a change – have committed to absolutely no plans this weekend.

So without further ado, I’d like to kick things off with a few links I’ve stumbled upon recently that I hope might serve as a nice introduction into vegetarianism/veganism.

  • Here’s a great TED Talk by Mark Bittman on some fundamental issues with the American diet. I think what’s really great is that while he’s not a vegetarian, he supports the ideals that many vegetarians and vegans feel strongly about. I think this is an excellent way for meat-lovers to see where we’re coming from. The brief 100-year history of food/diet is eye-opening as well.
  • Last week, I received this nice list of Ten Things I Wish I Knew Before I Went Vegan from No Meat Athlete, Matt Frazier. It’s an easy read with a bit of humor, and his website as a whole makes veganism a little more approachable for those who don’t know much about it.
  • This link answers the #1 question, “Where do you get your protein?” It’s fairly short and not overly scientific – not only giving a nice list of non-animal protein sources, but also gets into the specifics of the USDA recommendations.
  • And finally, here’s the classic 10 billion lives video that sheds some light on factory farming. Be forewarned that most of that video is pretty terrible!

I hope you gleaned something meaningful from one or all of those links. And if you’re really just here for the food, I promise to give you an awesome recipe in my next post!

PS. A fun tidbit of info – TCBY has rolled out a vegan-friend frozen yogurt. There sadly aren’t any TCBY’s near me, but it’s progress nonetheless!

Leave a Reply

